Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Advantage to the debtors.
Hi, newbie here. 

Yesterday I had an amusing  situation arise... I had applied for an account with a local timber merchant, part of a national chain some days ago. I did that because of the huge...and I mean huge discounts available to credit account customers that do no apply to cash customers (WTF ???). I'm talking here of decking, premium av at that store for $2.25 plm , as against B*****s for $4.50 ish, and coated screws at $12/200 as against M**** for $28

Hearing nothing I called in and spoke to the manager......

Apparently I have no credit references and no credit rating.. 

Correct I told him.. that's because I am not a debtor.    I explained that for the last two houses we built, I paid cash, and that the only reason I required an account was for the huge discounts available.

Got the account but only at a greatly reduced credit limit!  

So now its an advantage to be a debtor apparently .. cash customers need not apply.

Makes me wonder where the economy is heading  

The B D I
Welcome to the quietest smallest most polite forum on the interweb. Except for magoo that is. We keep him around because he makes us laugh.

You answer your own question. Economy. It is like most things in our community, all about money. If you are not borrowing you have retaken your power back from those who benefit from debt. Regrettably, your withdrawal from their stores of the stuff is a mere blip if the stats are to be believed, but even for a blip, you will be punished.

Interesting article here...

https://www.stuff.co.nz/business/1283965...-coal-mine
gawd, clearly they didn't look at your DOB - unless you're a teenager having no credit rating has got to be a good thing...