Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Macrium Reflect Free.
Wainuitech, or others!

Just had notice that the free version will not be available in version 9.

I used to pay for Acronis years ago until I found Active@Image and paid for that until Macrium free came along.

Is there a program that's as good as Macrium Free or would it pay to pay!

And Happy New year to all the old PCWF crowd. Great to be able to see some here.
Thanks.
I have also been using Macrium Reflect Free  for quite some time now and also have received that notification. FWIW because it has been reliable and easy to use I shall most likely move to the paid version when forced to do so. Support for version 8 is, I believe,  good for another year so there is no rush to decide. I tend to go along with Wainui Tech's advice and will be interested in what his take is on the matter.
I cant say what Macrium Reflect does better than any other back up program because I dont use it, what I have been using for many years is the free version of AOMEI Backupper and it does me just fine.
Despite the high cost of living it remains popular
Been using the Free version myself for years, On my own PC's they back up automatically every day to Servers in my workshop, as well as a few other files to online storage.

Do have a older Paid version as well (V7) Server edition.

I normally use the bootable CD on Customers PC's to save an image and recover data , or in most cases unbootable PC's  images will boot Via viboot.

Macrium does have one feature that MANY others don't -- If a image wont boot on putting back theres an option to fix the boot problem.
"WHEN" the time comes I'll buy it, its been a LOT more reliable than the others.

Tried them all really, AOMEI Backupper, ToDo, Acronis  etc, ALL have failed at various times.