Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Eset Nod32 Antivirus
Should I or should I not?

Got a pop up just now, offering Free Upgrade to Esset Internet. 

I have been using antivirus for many years and am quite happy without the Internet version.

Will Esset Internet cause unnecessary blockages and more complicated settings to make for this senior citizen?

wainuitech, what's your view?
(29-02-2024, 04:51 PM)Galaxy01 Wrote: Should I or should I not?

I have been using antivirus for many years and am quite happy without the Internet version.

Will Esset Internet cause unnecessary blockages and more complicated settings to make for this senior citizen?

I've run Eset Internet Security for several years now. Very unobtrusive, efficient and easy to use. It just works very well in the background with only the odd popup alerting me to emails that have been rendered harmless as Eset has ID'd and stripped a virus from them as they turn up. If you've been using ESET NOD32 up until now you'll probably not notice a day to day difference.

I also use MailWasher (from Firetrust) as a proxy email to filter out spam and other such junk. Both Eset IS and MailWasher are paid subscriptions but well worth the protection they provide for us as an online trader.
harm_less, how hard or easy to configure it when first installed?
(29-02-2024, 05:31 PM)Galaxy01 Wrote: harm_less,  how hard or easy to configure it when first installed?
It's a long time since I upgraded to Internet Security but don't remember there being anything tricky when I did. ESET pretty much takes care of things as part of the package. The only issues I've had were when I was sniffing around somewhere I probably shouldn't have been Angel and it then denies access . Nice to know ESET is looking out for you on those occasions though.
Thanks, harm_less for sharing.